preventivedoublemastectomy

Just another WordPress.com site

Welcome to 2013!

on January 2, 2013

Happy New Year, Everyone!! It has been way too long since my last blog, but in my defense, I did post a few guest blogs for a wonderful lady who is gracious enough to love my writing. With the new year, I would love to make a resolution to write at least one blog per week, but that is probably not realistic. However, I will aim for one blog every other week. Boring weeks will be skipped, and the not-so-boring weeks may include multiple rants. Deal?

So, back to the resolution business. My resolution this year (the same as last year) is to lose about 20 pounds. And to those who know me personally…no groans about me not having 20 pounds to lose. They are there, trust me. Last year I started at a higher number, which is a good thing…but not MUCH higher. I did well last year until I had my infamous surgery on March 16th. Cutting calories is not good for recovery, so I quit cutting them. And my first surgery and recovery period turned into my second surgery on August 9th. More recovery…more good excuses to eat what I want. And then came the holidays shortly after, and here I sit with the same 20 pounds I wanted to lose last year.

Yes, I have excuses. No, they are not all valid ones. Therefore, for 2013…there are no surgeries on the horizon, nothing to place diet speed bumps in my way and only my will power to tangle with. So far today I have resisted snacking, warded off the offer of ice cream at my in-laws house and I will not be eating another thing before I go to bed. Don’t worry, I don’t plan to turn this blog into my weight loss journey…it’s just fresh in my mind today since this is probably the biggest dieting day of the year for just about anyone wanting to shed a few pounds.

What a year this has been. One thing I am so happy I can say about 2012 is that I don’t regret my surgery decision one bit. I am so passionate about the choice I made one year ago, and I am thrilled with the results. Something tells me that if I lose some of this belly fat I will be even more thrilled…HA! But in all seriousness, I would love to be the spokesperson for this procedure. I want to shout it from the rooftops…BRCA gene carriers!! Chart your own course by becoming informed about your options! Don’t be scared…more women are having this surgery every day! I am excited about prevention, when I have seen first hand what it can do when it catches a woman by surprise. As I have said all along, I know I did not completely eliminate my risk, but I feel that God led me to make this decision. I know it was all part of His plan for my life.

Another year gone by…I recently celebrated my 34th birthday. They seem to be coming so quickly, and the term “thirtysomething” is really starting to make sense. My girls are half way through Kindergarten, which is probably the biggest eye-opener for me. They are such amazing little creatures. I can’t pull anything over on them anymore, which makes life completely exhausting. Sometimes I will speak my thoughts, they hear me, and I find myself trying to explain something even I don’t fully understand. As parents we must come to terms with the fact that we really don’t know everything. Even more alarming for me to discover is that I really don’t WANT to know everything. I just wish my kids felt the same way. 🙂

Anyways, welcome to 2013! A brand new 365 days. Plenty of days for love, hugs, tears, trials, joy, excitement, memories, experiences, firsts, lasts and everything in between. I hope to spend more time with my family and friends, and less time worrying about the things beyond my control. I controlled enough in 2012…it’s time for me to put my faith in God and take the year off!

Blessings to you all, and thanks for reading!! ❤


2 responses to “Welcome to 2013!

  1. donaelise says:

    Another excellent post and I totally agree that you should be the spokesperson for the preventative surgery!!!

    Look forward to future posts and I pray 2013 is good for our entire family! I love you Wendy!

Leave a comment